UA LHC/ATLAS High Energy Experimentalists receive Galileo Circle Dean's Award

News Editor

Professors John Rutherfoord, Michael Shupe, Erich Varnes, Ken Johns, and Elliott Cheu (pictured right to left) are being honored by the College of Science with the first Galileo Circle Dean's Award. The Dean's Board of Advisers instituted this special award in recognition of the "extraordinary accomplishments of a team of UA Science faculty scientists."

The group are all collaborators on the ATLAS experiment at the CERN LHC, which was acknowledged for the discovery of the Higgs boson in the Physics 2013 Nobel Prize citation to theorists Peter Higgs and Francois Englert, who predicted the particle. The experimental particle physics group have made exceptional contributions over many years to the ATLAS experiment by building key pieces of the ATLAS experiment present and future, developing software used in running the experiment and producing numerous physics results searching for new physics even beyond the Higgs Boson.