Physics Students Win Both College of Science Overall Undergraduate Awards

May 13, 2024
CoS Awards 6
The Department of Physics was well represented at the College of Science Award ceremony, with physics students winning the CoS Outstanding Senior Award and the CoS Excellence in Undergraduate Research Award. These prestigious awards are rarely given to two students in the same department. 
The CoS Outstanding Senior Award was given to Physics and Astronomy major Ansh Gupta. The CoS Outstanding Senior receives the honor of speaking at the College of Science Commencement Ceremony. Ansh also won the Astronomy Outstanding Senior Award. Read more here.
Hongji Wei is the winner of the CoS Excellence in Undergraduate Research Award. Hongji also won the Physics Excellence in Undergraduate Research Award and Physics Outstanding Senior Award. You can read more here.

Bao “Tintin” Nguyen is one of seven graduating students awarded the Merrill P. Freeman Medal at the UA 160th commencement! Tintin also won the Astronomy Excellence in Undergraduate Research Award.

Two physics students who were CoS Ambassadors were also recognized at the award ceremony: Shea Defour-Remy and Sarah Stamer.  
Hooray to our amazing students!